h1

over.

August 7, 2008

Finally.

It’s over.

And no, I don’t just mean my summer class. (Yep, I’m now officially halfway to becoming a Master. Whew.)

I mean the Brett Favre saga.

He’s a Jet now. Changing teams, but still donning the green. Congratulations. Now, can we officially get back to the rest of our lives?

I mean, while we’ve been busily engrossed in this Standoff at Lambeau, there’s been some pretty amazing sports stuff going on.

Like the Pirates being introduced to something they haven’t met in a really long time. It’s called a pitcher. Who can actually pitch. Well. A near perfect game? Might be as close as I ever get to the real thing. Maybe the Yankees trade wasn’t such a bad move after all. Jeff Karstens is now my second-favorite Pirate, just behind Doug Mientkiewicz.

Or, how about that little thing called the Olympics? Yeah, they start tomorrow. Who knew? And who needs Favre-o-drama, when you have real drama and a real story in the selection of Lopez Lomong as the flag carrier for the U.S. team in the Opening Ceremonies. Not only is he a fantastic selection, he’s the true epitome of the American Dream. If you haven’t read his story yet, read it here. Trust me. You’ll thank me later.

Too bad, though, that I’ll miss the remarkable moment. Because, I mean, obviously, the first Steelers preseason game, where the starters will play all of six plays, is much more important than a global event that happens just once every four years, right? (Yes, I’m being uber sarcastic. To a point.)

But, I think the best way to say sayonara to the drama is by stretching the PittGirl “moving forward” game. We deserve it now, don’t we? Just this once? Here’s the official announcement, released last night from the Green Bay Packers:

“It is with some sadness that we make this announcement, but also with the desire for certainty that will allow us to move the team and organization forward in the most positive way possible.”

I know. It’s a stretch. But with PittGirl’s permission, that’s a great way to get the weekend off to an early start.

Go Steelers.

* Photo courtesy AP/David J. Phillip, File
Leave a Reply

